The marathon event brought together 12,000 participants

  • Article


Kenyan Emmanuel Kemboi and Ethiopian Tejitu Siyum Alemayehu were the big winners of the 19th edition of the Porto Marathon, which took place on Sunday morning, through the streets of Porto, Matosinhos and Vila Nova de Gaia.

Not even the bad weather that was felt, in some parts of the race, prevented 12,000 athletes from participating in the great athletics event. The day that threatened to be a great storm was even presented with an embarrassed sun at the beginning of the course. In addition to the marathon, as usual, the Family Race (10-kilometre race) and the Fun Race (six-kilometre walk open to the participation of people of all age groups) took place.

In the main race, Kenyan Emmanuel Kemboi won this year's edition, followed by compatriot Simion Tarus and Ethiopian Ashenafi Boja. In the women's competition, the first athlete to cut the goal was Ethiopian Tejitu Siyum Alemayehu, followed by her compatriots Sinke Dessie and Kenyan Mildred Chepkemei.

Featured Portuguese

Regarding the participation of Portuguese athletes, José Sousa (CA Macedo de Cavaleiros) was once again, for the second consecutive year, the first Portuguese to reach the goal. In the female sector, the fastest Portuguese athlete was Laura Silva, finishing the race in the 4th position of the general classification.

The winners were presented with prizes, among others, by the city councillor for Sport, Catarina Araújo, the vice-president of Turismo Porto e Norte, Inácio Ribeiro, the regional director of the Instituto Português do Desporto e Juventude (IPDJ), Vitor Dias, and the vice-president of the Federação Portuguesa de Atletismo (FPA), Paulo Bernardo.

The 10-kilometre race (APO Corrida dos Ossos Saudáveis) was won, in the men's sector, by Miguel Borges (SC Braga), followed by Nuno Lopes (Vitoria FC) and Ricardo Pereira (EV Peraltafil). In the women's sector, the great champion was Rafaela Fonseca (R.D. Águeda), with Dulce Félix (Benfica) and Maria Carvalho (ADRAP) occupying the second and third place, respectively.

This year, the route once again united the three municipalities of the Atlantic Front – Porto, Matosinhos and Vila Nova de Gaia (after completing the rehabilitation of the lower deck of the Luís I bridge).