Best of Wine Tourism Awards 2017 presented yesterday in Porto

  • Article


Best of Wine Tourism Awards 2017 award ceremony presented yesterday in Porto


The Great Wine Capitals Global Network, announced yesterday the winners of the Best of Wine Tourism 2017 awards, during the general assembly held this week in Porto, under the theme Wine and Nature.

The awards ceremony was held in the Monastery São Bento da Vitória, with the presence of the delegates of the great wine capitals that make up this network: Adelaide (Australia), Bilbao (Spain), Bordeaux (France), Cape Town (South Africa), Mainz (Germany), Mendoza (Argentina), Porto (Portugal), S. Francisco (USA), Valparaiso (Chile) and Verona (Italy).

Firstly, prizes were awarded in the different categories to the winners of the Porto region, which represents the Douro, Porto and Vinho Verde Wine Region in this network: Monverde Wine Experience Hotel (Lodging); Quinta da Pacheca (Wine Restaurants); Alves de Sousa - Quinta da Gaivosa (Architecture and Landscape); Douro Museum (Art and Culture); Quinta de Santa Cristina (Innovative Experiences in Wine Tourism); Quinta Nova Nª Srª Carmo (Sustainable Practices in Wine Tourism), and Quinta do Bomfim (Wine Tourism Services).

The international winners, selected from the winners of each region by the international jury, were then announced. In the Porto region, this distinction was attributed to Quinta do Bomfim.

Another of the highlights of this general assembly was the international wine tasting, held at The Yeatman Hotel and attended by nearly 200 guests. There were 179 wine references from various Great Wine Capitals regions.

Porto positively surprised all participants, as mentioned during the gala, by the winners and the president of the Great Wine Capitals Network, Juan Mari Buruaga. Councilor for Trade, Tourism and Supervision, Manuel Aranha, also recalled the action taken by the former councilor Manuel de Sampaio Pimentel, recently deceased, and responsible for choosing Porto as host city of this year's general assembly. The next one will take place in 2017 in Valparaiso (Chile).